Fear of the Unknown

20160907_100946

Fear of the Unknown

During my notice period from work (in other words killing-time), I come across people who are happy for our decision, inspired by our actions and hopeful that someday it will be their turn. However, there will always be at least one or a handful who will question you. Are you not scared? What will you do? What about your work here? Are you going to earn the same in your country? How can you survive? I once asked myself these questions as well, that’s why I’m ready to answer them truthfully.

It is only but natural to fear the unknown. The uncertainty of what the future holds will make you scared and pessimistic but thinking about it, I’m more excited than being scared. Come 2017, I suddenly felt jittery and scared but more of excitement. Thinking “This is it!”, “there’s really no backing out now”, “OMG! Philippines here we come!” The days are getting shorter and faster everyday making our rendering period reaching to an end.

The mere thought of starting up all over again is quite daunting more so, adjusting to a new environment for me and my kids. Although, we do come home for vacation quite often and enjoyed most of our time feeling like a tourist it will be different then when we think of staying and living there for the rest of our lives. I’m a little worried for my kids as they don’t know the language, school is totally new and they have to completely adjust in the way of province living. Where at 6 pm shops close and people stay at home for early dinner, sleep early and wake up very early the next day except for some group of men drinking in the neighborhood till wee hours. I’m worried that we might get bored while the nearest shopping mall and known fast food chain is 60 km away, about an hour if you’re a fast driver. I guess that is all I’m worried about.

Small thing compared to over-all excitement of coming home for good. Starting your own business, no time-in and out, no boss to report to, Filipino food available, we can get help if we wanted to, so many recreational activities for the family among others.

But the big question is… the uncertainty of the future. What is your survival rate? This is the UNKNOWN that most OFW’s (Filipino Overseas Worker) fear most and why they are scared to leave it all behind. How do you know your success? There are a lot of articles/guide written about how to be successful entrepreneur, How to start-up a business, and so many how-to guides. No matter how many you read and understand you can never know the answers till you put it to test and do it on your own.

So, how do we face the fear of the unknown head on? The answers will be given in my coming blogs for more details. The only fact remains is that there is so much more to look forward to than being an employee for the rest of my life doing the same monotonous unfulfilling job.

I’d like to end this by saying, we Do NOT fear because of this:

“For I know the plans I have for you, plan to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

Leave a comment